Please help I'm new at this.

mattbrinkman1

Distinguished
Jul 4, 2011
Hey everyone I just have a couple of questions this is my first build that I'm doing on my own and I'm a little confused on a couple of things.

Okay so first off I see on my motherboard that there is a place to power my CPU, it's a 8pin connector. On my cables on my PSU I have only one 8pin it's actually a 6pin with two right next to it, but around it it has a sticker that says PCI Express 8pin. Is that the same? and is that the one I need to use?

Secondly The graphics card I ordered (a GTX 570 Evga) says it needs two 6pin to power it
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...613&cm_re=evga_gtc_570-_-14-130-613-_-Product

I noticed that there are two adapters in the card that go to a molax 4 pin do I just attach those to a cable my power supply came with?

Sorry if any of this is unclear I'll try my best to explain anything. Any help would be great thanks!

What psu do you have? It sounds like it might be inadequate or very old.
A GTX570 needs 550w with 38a on the 12v rails plus two 6-pin PCI-E power leads.

The 6/8 pin labeled pcie express is for your graphics card.
A strong enough psu should come with at least two of them.

In the event that you do not have two 6 pin pci-e connectors, EVGA has included a molex(4 holes) adapter which will give you the second needed pci-e 6 pin connector.

Your psu should have at least a 4 pin cpu connector. It may be sufficient, it will go into one half of the cpu 8 pin hole. It is needed for things like overclocking, and many motherboards will run fine with using only 4. If your psu has only a single 6 pin pci-e connector, I doubt if it came with a 8 pin cpu adapter.
There are molex to 8 pin cpu adapter cables available, but make certain that your psu is strong enough to begin with.

compulsivebuilder

Distinguished
Jun 10, 2011