Mid level gaming PC advice, best bang for your buck

cmb2248

Distinguished
Apr 5, 2011
So I've been looking into building a PC for a long time, but lacked the technical knowhow until recently. Im comfortable enough while working around electronics now (I'm an electrical engineering student) and im knowledgeable enough about computers to know that i can have an absolutely awesome PC if i build it. my main concern is power, I already have a 21.5 inch 1080p LED backlit monitor from ASUS, and it would be silly to not be able to fully utilize it, so i need a decent graphics card.

anyway, main uses: decent gaming, MATLAB, simulation software, media center?
build date: may
O/C: Will try
SLI/Crossfire: maybe.. probably not

Ive been shopping through newegg's weekly deals, and already purchased a PSU on sale...

PSU: Corsair 650W Modular
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139012

must be able to display on this:
Monitor: ASUS 21.5 inch, 1080p
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824236099

i'm worried about not having enough power... Should i return it and get a 750 or 800? the rest of the components i still need to buy, so theyre flexible, and I'd love suggestions!

CPU: AMD 6 core, 3.2 GHZ
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103849

mobo: i haven't settled yet... I want something that will be worth upgrading in the future, so i'm willing to spend money on it. definitely need help with this though..

ram: easy enough to pick. preferably 8 GB, but upgradeable.

GPU: tentatively, MSI Hawk ATI 6870 -its a little pricey for me, but if there is a HUGELY better one for a little more, i'll splurge.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814127560&cm_re=MSI_6870-_-14-127-560-_-Product

Case: I was thinknig the antec Lanboy air, blue/black? but im open for suggestions. cooling is primary concern.

Anyway, Thanks so much for your help! Id appreciate any design suggestions!