Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Prebuilt Alienware system for gaming/dev

Last response: in Systems
April 6, 2011 3:14:54 PM

Hey guys,

I've recently graduated (comp sci, so I know my way around a computer a little bit :p ), and have a job line up starting next month where I will have way more money than I know what to do with, and the totally best possible plan I could come up with was to buy a gaming computer and put the dark days of low settings behind me :p 

Anyway, I have very little experience with hardware besides doing some OS stuff and assembling a desktop computer about 4 years ago (and that was not a painless experience), and I'm sure things have changed a lot since then, hence why I'm looking into prebuilt machines.

Anyway, I'm currently looking at this Alienware system for 2144 USD:

Matte Stealth Black Chassis with 875W Multi-GPU Approved Power Supply
Intel® Core™ i7-2600 (8MB Cache) Overclocked Turbo Boost to 3.9GHz
16GB Dual Channel DDR3 at 1333MHz
Dual 2GB GDDR5 AMD Radeon™ HD 6950
No Keyboard
2TB (2x 1TB) SATA II (3Gb/s) 7,200RPM (2x 32MB Cache)
Alienware® 19-in-1 Media Card Reader
No Monitor
Integrated 7.1 Channel Audio
802.11n Wi-Fi and Bluetooth 2.1 EDR USB Combo Adapter
Single Drive: 24X CD/DVD burner (DVD+/-RW) w/double layer write capability

So, anyway, I've got a few questions base don this build:

Does anyone have any idea about whether this is a good price for this system? If being prebuilt is *significantly* inreasing the price, how hard are these things to put together these days? I've never even seen a dual XFire setup, let alone put one together....

Any guesses on how long this will last before I have to start running into games I can't run/I have to run most games on low graphics?

Does anyone know anything about the i7-2600 vs the i7-2600K?