Sign in with
Your question

Possible hardware failure.

Tags:
Last response: in Memory
March 15, 2012 9:23:11 AM

Hi all,

This is my first time using this forum and I hope this is in the right place. Here are my specs:

Windows Vista Home Premium 32-bit
Asus Striker II Extreme
Intel Q9650 @ 3.00 GHz w/ Arctic cooler and mx-2 compound
OCZ 4GB DDR3
EVGA GTX 295
Coolermaster 1 kW modular PSU
Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Titanium
Samsung Spinpoint 750GB

Okay so about two weeks ago, my old HDD failed so I bought a new WD Caviar Black 1TB thinking that was all that was required. However, since I've had the comp running again (on a Samsung Spinpoint now) I have been encountering weird slow down problems in single player games.

They run normally for maybe about an hour or two, it varies, and then eventually they lag and slow down to an absolute crawl - less than 1 frame per second. If it gets left to that stage, all you can do is restart the computer really. Otherwise you'd be looking at fifteen to twenty-five minutes just to get the task manager up and end the process. It is that slow.

I've gotten all the drivers for my gear, even tried older ones. Windows is fully updated running SP2. I've downloaded the latest DirectX 9.0 runtimes, .net frameworks, C++ libraries. I've tried increasing the page file size, making a static page file and letting windows control it. I've tinkered with settings in the nvidia control panel and in-game settings. The games I've tried this with (Mass Effect 1, Far Cry 2, COD: MW3) are all up to date and run through Steam.

I've flashed my bios, replaced my cpu, graphics card and psu with working ones from other comps, disabled my sound card.. I've checked cpu and gpu temps which were respectively: 55C and 85C both on load.

I even ran XP to no avail. Virus scan to no avail. I ran memtest86 which found no errors.