Your question

$1000-1500 New Gaming Build

Tags:
  • New Build
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
April 8, 2011 3:04:42 AM

Hey there,

I'll be the first person to admit I'm new to the idea of building a computer from scratch, so I will probably have a lot of questions; I apologize in advance if I sound like an idiot, but here we go. I'm mostly a console gamer to be completely honest, but there is the occasional title that I'd love to be able to play on PC but I simply don't have the rig to run. I've been without a PC for years now, running off only my laptop and I'm not silly enough to even try running anything released recently with that.

I'm starting a job next month that will absorb the vast majority of my time, but I'd like a project to help me get over the crazy studying I'll be having to do in the downtime so I've decided to bite the bullet and start at least collecting the parts for my inevitable build. It doesn't have to be anything crazy, just enough to get me through the occasional new release that catches my eye. Like Shogun 2, which I want so bad it physically hurts me.

Any help with the build/advice in general would be greatly appreciated. With that, here we go!

Approximate Purchase Date: Within 3 months

Budget Range: Up to 1500 firm Before Rebates

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Strictly gaming, I have my laptop for day to day stuff.

Parts Not Required: Going to need the whole lot.

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Any

Country of Origin: Canada

Parts Preferences: Any, though a smaller build would be preferable as I haven't got a ton of space in my apartment.

Overclocking: Maybe

SLI or Crossfire: Maybe

Monitor Resolution: Any