[CPUs] E8400 Temps too hot.......anyone?

Lovebird

Distinguished
Jul 11, 2011
Hello all. After lurking this forum for a while I decided to finally create an account and see if anyone can help out :D . First off I am far from a PC expert. I have an E8400 Core 2 duo Wolfdale CPU @ 3.0ghz that I had a friend use to build my PC 2 years ago. I am using the stock cooler that came with the system.

I decided to try overclocking the other day and I am now on 3.6ghz. In CPU-Z the core voltage is 0.928V. At idle, it is 47~50C. However when I decide to play a game the temperature INSTANTLY shoots up to 70C and from there the core temps continue to rise up to about 85~87 and stay there ( this is using core temp) :sweat: .

Today I recognized a HUGE ton of dust inside of my PC (the side of my PC is open) and i cleared a lot of it out and temps went down (from yesterday) by about 15C for my GPU (Radeon HD 4870) and about 8C for my CPU so that was a good thing..... (Yesterday my GPU temp was 80C idle and CPU temps were reaching 90-100C when gaming..... no joke...)

I have no idea, is it supposed to be that hot/is this normal? Is there something wrong inside of the PC? What can or should I do to get the temps lower/a bit more reasonable? :(

Uther39

Distinguished
Your main issue is your using the stock cooler, so the first thing you need to do is buy a decent aftermarket cooler like the CoolerMaster 212, after that you need to look at your cases layout as far as ventilation is concerned, what case do you use? how many fans does it have and what size are they, 80mm, 120mm? Also in what configuration are they, how many pulling cool air into the case and how many exhausting hot air out? All these are things you need to consider when OCing any of your hardware. So let us no what you have got and we will work from there.

Lovebird

Distinguished
Jul 11, 2011