LLoydizle

Distinguished
May 18, 2011
hey there everybody

I want to overclock my CPU to 4ghz but I am not sure if it's a good idea with my current CPU temps. When running prime95 for a while. the max the temps hit is on 58 with my current cooling. I am wondering if it would be a good idea to overclock my cpu based on its current temps. Also this is my first time that I am ever overvlovking as I am new to the PC side of gaming. Il put a full list of my components down below for you guys to see.

Mobo: Gigabye P67a-UD4-B3
CPU: Intel i5 2500k currently at 3.3ghz
Cooling: ASUS Silent Knight II
RAM: 8GB Kingston
PSU: Corsair 750 watt (TX)
GPU: MSI RadeonHD 6950 Twin Fozr III #
Case: Cooler Master HAF 912 plus 2x 200mm fans (front for intake and top for outtake), 2x 120mm fans (side for intake and back for outtake)

Also, like i said this is my first time overclocking so im not sure what to do exactly so any help with that would be appreciated. And an early thank you for all that help :)

sportsfanboy

Distinguished
There are overclocking stickies at the top of the overclocking section. Your chip is very easy to overclock because of the unlocked multiplier, two minutes of reading will give you a basic idea of what to do.

Is the 58c core temps or cpu temperature?

LLoydizle

Distinguished
May 18, 2011

It's my CPU temperature. When running prime 95 it struggles to go over 57 degrees and max it will ever hit is 58. And thanks for that, i'm gonna look for a guide right now :)

LLoydizle

Distinguished
May 18, 2011
58 is not bad at all, i would say that somewhere in the 70s is where you should start worrying (under full load), you should be fine to OC.

Thanks for that. a friend also just found me a guide could u help and tell me if its a good one: *link removed*

Sorry, I had to remove the link cause that guide is for an older BIOS that i have at the moment

sportsfanboy

Distinguished