Need Nvidia GPU advice for gaming rig...

guitarjanitor

Distinguished
Jan 26, 2011
Hey guys,

I've been milling around the forums gathering advice and trying to decide which parts to put in my upcoming gaming build. The general consensus has been that having "the latest and greatest" is a waste of money because literally nobody is taking advantage of new tech. This is good for the frugal (poor) builder such as myself :D

At any rate, I'm a noob (I have yet to build a rig on my own), and I need help narrowing down my parts list.

After coming to these forums again and again, I've decided that the Intel Core i5-2500K is the best gaming CPU that can be had at a decent price (and that performance doesn't scale with price in any reasonable fashion, so it's the logical "bang-for-your-buck" option). However, I've had a hard time finding a graphics card that'll do a good job without costing an arm and a leg. I'd really like to have a GTX 590, but it sucks a lot of juice (it loves the electricity), and it costs a freakin' ton of cash.

So, here are my goals:

1) Play games maxed out (full detail, decent AA and AF) at 1920x1080

2) Steady framerate that doesn't dip below 40 fps

I'm thinking about getting a pair of GTX 560 TIs. I've heard that they'll put out power comparable to the GTX 590, and judging by current prices on Newegg, they'll do it for a couple hundred bucks cheaper.

So, that's what I'm looking for advice on. How well does the i5-2500K/sli GTX 560 TI combo work for games? I'm looking consistent high (40+) framerate in current (and hopefully 1-2 years in the future) games. Also, how much of a cap for graphics performance is the i5-2500K? Will I see a difference in quality between it and higher-priced Intel Core-series CPUs? How many years do you think the i5 will last before it starts to bottleneck my GPU performance?