Sign in with
Your question

What are the uses of Quadro and FirePro cards?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
Anonymous
a b U Graphics card
February 5, 2011 6:33:10 AM

To start with, I'm not a newbie computer user, it's just that I picked up everything I know from random places.
This is not the first time I search for an answer to this question, I can't find a clear answer, just that the Quadro and workstation cards have special drivers and are designed to perform different calculations, math and algorithms needed in programs like Maya and 3Ds Max. So I would like to subdivide my question in to 3:

1) Does rendering your final completed, for example, Maya project into a video file depend on your CPU or your GPU?
According to my knowledge, the time taken for rendering an animation into a video clip depends on your CPU, is that correct or would a workstation card play a role in rendering, so is it Dependant on CPU, GPU or both and how and why?

2) If you play a demanding PC game on a mid range Quadro it will lag; however on a gaming card like a GeForce, it will run well, so by running poorly we mean having a drop in framerate making the game unplayable and useless.
What about using a GeForce for Maya, for example, what would be the performance issue, in games it's lag, so in Maya it's what?

3) How and in what ways would a workstation card improve the performance of such programs?

More about : quadro firepro cards

a c 173 U Graphics card
February 5, 2011 4:40:37 PM

That summed it up but to shorten it down to a simple post is bios and drivers. The gpu cores and the rest of the card is the same as that found on the normal market except for frame lock features ect. The bios has very minor changes while the drivers are scripted to improve performance in certain applications for 2D and 3D work such as AutoCad or 3DSMax serving as two examples. Application performance is nerfed on the normal consumer cards to help maintain such a niche.
Related resources
Anonymous