Sign in with
Your question

Is overclocking the RAM really going to do anything?

Last response: in Memory
March 19, 2012 4:47:04 PM

My system config is in my sig. From what I can tell theres a lot of debate on this topic, but I can't seem to find a whole lot in terms of benchmarks. I'm still a newbie with overclocking.

I have 2 Corsair Vengeance DDR3 8GB modules. They are rated for 1600mhz, 1.5v.

My Mobo downclocks them by default to 1333mhz . With my overclock at the FSB, they're still underclocked compared to what they're rated for.

My CPU-Z info-

Core speed-3901mhz
Multiplier- 18
Bus- 216mhz

Memory Clocked at 722mhz x 2= 1444mhz

The mobo manual states that the RAM can be overclocked to 2133mhz with their board. Is it really worth it? Hard numbers would be appreciated, but I'm not adverse to educated guesses either.

More about : overclocking ram

a c 347 } Memory
a b K Overclocking
March 19, 2012 5:07:18 PM

OC'ing the RAM depends on the CPU and platform. On an AMD yeah it helps, but with the 8GB per stick density IMO leave it at DDR3-1333. 8GB density is much harder on the AMD pre-FX CPUs and for the silight increase in e.g. Rendering it's not the same as a 4x4GB kit to OC.

Q - Which kit? CMZ16GX3M2A1600C10 or CMX16GX3M2A1600C11
Q - CPU-z, what CAS is it by default running (Memory tab), and better yet, post the 'SPD' tab so I can see better options (DDR3-1333 i.e. lower CAS or DDR3-1600.

Keep in mind, typically non-ASUS MOBO's leave you with one of two choices: FSB to 240MHz or CPU-NB Frequency to 2400MHz. In your case, try AI Overclock Tuner -> DOCP and then DRAM OC Profile -> DDR3-1600. Next run Memtest for a minimum of 4-passes if not overnight; no errors leave it vs errors set it back.
March 19, 2012 9:09:25 PM

jaquith said: