Help picking out a PSU for a new desktop with a GTX 460

hmbtnguy

Distinguished
Apr 12, 2011
Hi this is my first time building a computer and posting on these forums so I hope I did everything correctly!

Approximate Purchase Date: (this week)

Budget Range: (600-800)Before / After Rebates

System Usage from Most to Least Important: (Video editing, gaming, general video watching)

Parts Not Required: (HDD, Optical Drive, keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers, OS)

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: (Amazon/newegg)

Country of Origin: (US)

Parts Preferences: (none)

Overclocking: Maybe

SLI or Crossfire: Maybe

Monitor Resolution: (1920x1200)

Additional Comments:

As mentioned earlier this will be my first time building a desktop from scratch. After a few hours of research and looking through these forums, I have decided on these parts:

Case: Antec Three Hundred Illusion Black Steel ATX Mid Tower
CPU: Intel i5 2500k
Mobo: ASUS SABERTOOTH P67 (REV 3.0) LGA 1155 Intel P67 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard
RAM: G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL8D-8GBXM
Heatsink: COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus

The Mobo was mostly due to a combo deal where I get $40 off if I buy it with the RAM.

My main question is: what PSU should I get if I plan to get a Nvidia GTX 460. I will be mainly using this desktop to do some video editing and play a few games like StarCraft 2. Otherwise, are there any other tips or part suggestions you guys have? Thanks!

Solution
650W will be plenty for a system with two GTX 460s, so if you want that option then the Antec Truepower New Modular 650W 80Plus Bronze Modular or XFX 650W XXX Edition 80Plus Bronze Modular (there is also a grey fan version) are the best options below $100.