Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Gaming with hobbyist 3d modelling, animation and rendering

Last response: in Systems
April 13, 2011 8:42:37 AM

I want to build a new system that I can use for 3 purposes: Playing games, game development, and possibly play around with 3ds max, maya and autocad inventor (I have a free subscription to these that I'd like to make use of)... I know that Maya normally requires a workstation card but I also know that consumer grade graphics cards have also been tested and work (although not supported or recommended). That being said, I am not against a workstation build, I am just not used to them and don't know whether they'd run normal games (since workstation cards are usually a tad slower and aimed at precision rather than power if I am not mistaken).

So what would you recommend?

Approximate Purchase Date: April 10- May 30

Budget Range: Approximately 1000-1500 USD

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Game development, gaming, 3ds max, Maya, autocad inventor

Parts Not Required: Keyboard

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Newegg, Other(s)

Country of Origin: USA (however, I may have to move to Turkey for work reasons so I am not sure whether I should buy in US and deal with the problems of warranty abroad in case of device failure)

Parts Preferences: Internationally recognized and international warranty coverage preferred (but not necessary)

Overclocking: Yes (possibly)

SLI or Crossfire: If required (but option for future should exist)

Monitor Resolution: Unsure Yet

Additional Comments: I want to be able to use this system for at least 3-4 years with upgrades along the way as necessary.
a b B Homebuilt system
April 13, 2011 4:54:56 PM

I believe workstation cards are out of your budget

Here is a nice build for you
http://secure.newegg.com/WishList/MySavedWishDetail.asp...
It has
i7 2600K - The best! with hyperthreading for your Maya/CAD software
8Gb of G.skill DDR 1600 - For gaming and your CAD software