Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Cooler for Asus p8p67 pro with 4 GSkill Ripjaws RAM

Last response: in Systems
April 13, 2011 3:09:33 PM

I am completely new to putting together my own build and have already purchased some components that may conflict. Components include:

1. Asus p8p67 Pro MB
2. Intel i5-2500k CPU
3. 4 x 4gb RipjawsX RAM (41 mm tall including fin and connector)
4. Corsair 600t Case

I was going to go with the stock cooler, but am considering adding an after market cooler to allow overclocking & reduce heat stress. I need to know:

1. What coolers will clear the cooling fins when all 4 RAM slots are filled?
2. Of those coolers, which are easiest for a novice to install?

Any recommendations would be very much appreciated.
April 13, 2011 7:41:34 PM

wl2-pwr said:
I am completely new to putting together my own build and have already purchased some components that may conflict. Components include:

1. Asus p8p67 Pro MB
2. Intel i5-2500k CPU
3. 4 x 4gb RipjawsX RAM (41 mm tall including fin and connector)
4. Corsair 600t Case

I was going to go with the stock cooler, but am considering adding an after market cooler to allow overclocking & reduce heat stress. I need to know:

If you already have a Corsair 600t Case I would automatically get a Corsair H50/60/70 cooler. You can do a really good overclock on that i5-2500k and would definately not interfere with memory clearance.
m
l

Best solution

April 14, 2011 11:58:44 AM

wl2-pwr said:

I'm using a Cooler Master Gemini II S. it is low profile top down cooler (puts air on you Ram and Chipset also) I have a ASUS P8P67-M Pro MB using G.Skill RipJaw X ram. I have about a 1/16" clearance from the first ram heatink to the Gemini II HSF. the HSF can be rotated in 90 degree increments to position the heatpipes away from the Ram and other chipset heatsinks.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

the directions are fairly easy to follow, basically in a nutshell:
put on thermal paste