Sign in with
Your question

Graphics Card broken + replacement Options

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
February 8, 2011 5:32:16 AM

Hi I'm a little new to this, so some thoughts would be welcome.

Scenario.

Current System is a

Stock i7 920 -2.66Ghz, 9GB DDr3 1333Mhz, 1 250, and 1 500G Drive, Geforce 8800GTS 320mb powered by a Thermaltake Tough Power 750Watt Power supply, on a benQ 1920x1080 Screen with a chance of upgrade to dual screens in the future.

So yesterday it turns out my computer would no longer boot with the Geforce Card inside it, its about 4 years old now, and it was giving me odd beeps when it was installed, I basically got no Screen, no video, no post nothing. The Graphics card shows no signs of burning or electrostatic damage by the looks (but im not an expert here), the fan and the cooling seem to also be working fine.

My question is, is there any way i can fix this graphics card? It is not under warranty so taking it to someone isnt an option, is it possible to fix it myself? I have no bios nothing loading up on the screen. I also have confirmed that it is indeed the graphics card, since placing an older Geforce 6600GT solves my problem, and i get a normal boot.

My second question is, if it cant be fixed, what is a good alternative, for someone who uses the computer very infrequently for gaming, but mostly for things like photoshop, after effects, and mostly photo edit work such as lightroom etc, nothing super high end requiring 3d rendering or whatever. Budget is 200-300 I should point out that the current case cooling is very bad, and the PCI-E area can become rather hot, my old card would run at 65 deg idle, so quite a bit warm, the rest of the system is rather cool and okay, CPU is being cooled by a Hydro H70, but i need something that has good inbuilt cooling.

Any suggestions would be welcome :)  if you can also provide me with some reviews on your recommended product, id appreciate it. Thanks!
a c 153 U Graphics card