Building a SandyBridge Workstation, advice?

thefiend1

Distinguished
Apr 13, 2011
Hey Guys,

First post here at Tom's Hardware. Love this site :)

Im currently using a workstation PC I built in 2005 for college where I studied computer animation for the 3d Animation industry. I recently upgraded to Windows 7 64, and since then have been getting BSODs just about every day. I cant figure out what the problem is, I thought maybe it was the RAM so I ran a MemTest and nothing came back. Ive checked the dump files and it mostly comes from the ntoskrnl... I dont know what that means, but 9/10 times the error comes from that. Once or twice it pointed to the video card. I have updated all the drivers right after I installed windows 7 but I have been getting non stop BSODs whenever the system is running something that uses a lot of memory.... :pfff:

Anyways, I have been planning my build for the last year or so and since sandy bridge came out I have decided to come up with a reasonable list of equipment. I will be using this PC for creating 3D artwork - so things like modeling, rendering, some video editing etc. I do play games from time to time - just Team Fortress 2. So The software im using looks like this: Maya, Renderman, Nuke, Shake, Photoshop, 3Ds Max, etc etc.

Here's my list:

Processor: Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge
Motherboard: Asus P8P67 Deluxe
Video Card: NVIDIA Quadro 4000*
Sound Card: Asus Xonar DX2
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 8GB
Hard drive: Western Digital BLACK 500GB
Power Supply: Seasonic X-Series 750W GOLD
Case: Corsair 600T White edition

* = Seeing as this is a $780 card, im going to be utilizing my current Quadro FX1500 I purchased awhile back. Which at the time was 500 and is now practically worthless (so I cant just sell it) :??:

Note:
Im going to say NO to SSDs because of the cost. I dont see a large enough benefit for price/speed.