Sign in with
Your question
Closed

How to Powering GTX 460 in SLI

Last response: in Components
July 15, 2011 2:52:46 PM

Hi

I have recently built a sandy bridge pc with an EVGA GTX 460 FTW GPU, since I have some money left over from the build I am looking to maybe buy a second GTX 460 to put in SLI but I am unsure if my PSU has the necessary cabling/watts to power them both.

I have a Cooler Master Silent Pro M700 which has two PCI 6 pin connectors which are both currently powering my one GTX 460.

The GTX 460 I have came with two connectors which seem to convert two Molex connectors into one 6 pin connector, unfortunately I only have two free sata slots left on the PSU so if I am correct I would end up with a total of 3, 6 pin connectors.

Anyone have any ideas on how/if it would be possible to power two GTX 460's in SLI with my PSU?
Does the GTX 460 need both 6 pin connectors to run?

Thanks
Ashley

More about : powering gtx 460 sli

July 15, 2011 3:07:58 PM

What cables do you have free on your PSU then.

Since your PSU comes with:
- (1) ATX 20+4 pin mobo connector
- (1) AUX 12V 4+4 pin connector
- (2) 6+2 pin PCI-E connector
- (3) 3x SATA connector
- (1) 2 x 4 pin molex and 1 x floppy
- (1) 3x 4 pin molex

You say you are using everything except for 2 x SATA cables? Because you can get cable adapters for molex to pci-e, but I'm not sure if you have any free since you say you don't. Your video cards will each need the 2 x pci-e connectors.
Score
July 15, 2011 3:16:06 PM

Hi
I have used:
24 pin & 8 pin for the MB
two 6 pins on the current 460
one sata for the HDD
one sata for the DVD Drive

The rest are unused, sorry for the confusion.

I have two molex to pci-e adaptors which came with the 460.

Thanks
Ashley
Score
Related resources
July 15, 2011 3:22:45 PM

I'm not sure how many case fans required a molex connector in your build, but it seems like you should have more than enough molex connectors for your molex -> pci-e adapters.