Closed Solved

How to Powering GTX 460 in SLI

Hi

I have recently built a sandy bridge pc with an EVGA GTX 460 FTW GPU, since I have some money left over from the build I am looking to maybe buy a second GTX 460 to put in SLI but I am unsure if my PSU has the necessary cabling/watts to power them both.

I have a Cooler Master Silent Pro M700 which has two PCI 6 pin connectors which are both currently powering my one GTX 460.

The GTX 460 I have came with two connectors which seem to convert two Molex connectors into one 6 pin connector, unfortunately I only have two free sata slots left on the PSU so if I am correct I would end up with a total of 3, 6 pin connectors.

Anyone have any ideas on how/if it would be possible to power two GTX 460's in SLI with my PSU?
Does the GTX 460 need both 6 pin connectors to run?

Thanks
Ashley
11 answers Last reply Best Answer
More about powering
  1. What cables do you have free on your PSU then.

Since your PSU comes with:
    - (1) ATX 20+4 pin mobo connector
    - (1) AUX 12V 4+4 pin connector
    - (2) 6+2 pin PCI-E connector
    - (3) 3x SATA connector
    - (1) 2 x 4 pin molex and 1 x floppy
    - (1) 3x 4 pin molex

You say you are using everything except for 2 x SATA cables? Because you can get cable adapters for molex to pci-e, but I'm not sure if you have any free since you say you don't. Your video cards will each need the 2 x pci-e connectors.
  2. Hi
    I have used:
    24 pin & 8 pin for the MB
    two 6 pins on the current 460
    one sata for the HDD
    one sata for the DVD Drive

The rest are unused, sorry for the confusion.

I have two molex to pci-e adaptors which came with the 460.

Thanks
    Ashley
  3. I'm not sure how many case fans required a molex connector in your build, but it seems like you should have more than enough molex connectors for your molex -> pci-e adapters.

You should only need 4 molex connectors to result in your 2 pci-e 6 pin connectors that you need for your second 460.