'ASUSvM5A99XEVO' Based System Keeps Freezing

willloughlin

Honorable
Mar 25, 2012
Hello all,
I've recently built a new home PC. Specs as follows.

-Asus M5A99X EVO
-8gb ddr3 ram (2x 4gb crucial CT51264BA1339.M16F)
-500gb caviar green western digital hdd
-AMD FX (tm)-6100 six-core Processor 3.3ghz
-Radeon HD 6850 2gb gddr5
-500w psu
-Antec h20 Kuhler 620
-x2 additional Chassis fans.
-Windows 7 ultimate 64bit

The issue i'm having with the system is that it freezes completely randomly without any trend in the cause. When it's working it works brilliantly, but will freeze for seemingly no reason. I have run a temperature monitor and observed it freeze while the processor temp was 33 degrees(c) and the motherboard was at 31degrees(c) so i'm not convinced thats the issue either.

I am no expert but have never had problems building systems before, this however completely mystifies me. Bios,MB and GFX drivers are fully updated. I've even reinstalled OS and drivers with no luck. I hope this is some simple mistake i've made but would be very grateful for anyone who could shed light on this mystery for me!

Thank you very much for taking the time to read!

willloughlin

Honorable
Mar 25, 2012
Thanks for pointing me to this diagnostic tool it's pretty neat, although my system passed with no errors, so i'm still none the wiser :/

kelthic

Honorable
Feb 28, 2012
no problem. I noticed you list a 500w psu, but no other information regarding this. Could you provide a link to the model you have? Also, what sort of software are you running?

willloughlin

Honorable
Mar 25, 2012

willloughlin

Honorable
Mar 25, 2012
Also, the software I'm using varies. Sometimes i'll start it up and leave it idle for a few minutes and it will freeze. Other times i'll be using Illustrator, or playing graphically intensive games like Skyrim. There really seems to be no trend that i can see.

kelthic

Honorable
Feb 28, 2012