2x SLI GTS 450 or a single card such as the GTX 560 TI?

Status
Not open for further replies.

triton

Distinguished
Dec 23, 2004
I'm upgrading and trying to spend around $250. Currently, with rebates I could get three GTS 450's at NewEgg (3 @ $94.99) although I'm only buying 2 of them. Not even sure how to get the hardware to set up three-way SLI, but I know I have a 2x connector.
The GTS450 overview sounds great, assuming it runs fine in a 2x SLI configuration.
But I have no idea how to compare two/SLI to a single GeForce card in the same price range, such as the GTX 560 TI...which has no availability in EVGA at newegg, but there are some at Amazon for $271 or Tiger Direct for $245..

I have built my last 5-6 computers and used to work user support, so I'm not a novice, but I don't keep up with hardware changes and I've never dealt with SLI before.

APPROXIMATE PURCHASE DATE: Now
BUDGET RANGE: $250 preferred; maximum $299.99 including rebates, tax, S&H

USAGE FROM MOST TO LEAST IMPORTANT: MMO Gaming (probably SWTOR), Turn-based strategy (e.g., Civ V), RTS, rarely DVD's, Netflix instant, or action games

CURRENT GPU AND POWER SUPPLY: EVGA 8800 GT and Rosewill RX750-D-B 750W
NewEgg calculator says with three GTS450 I'd be at 685W (on my 750). Shouldn't be an issue for 2 cards.

OTHER RELEVANT SYSTEM SPECS: MoBo: EVGA 132-CK-NF78-A1 LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 780i SLI
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6750
MEMORY: 4x Crucial 2GB DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)
I don't have any special cooling other than paste on the CPU, but I do have a lot of fan cooling with an XClio A380.

PREFERRED WEBSITE(S) FOR PARTS: Newegg or Amazon (cheap with good customer service and easy returns) and I have accounts there. Willing to do TigerDirect or whoever, if they have easy returns.

PARTS PREFERENCES: Nvidia for the board; EVGA mfg seems to be best for EVGA board/SLI, according to users at EVGA forums

OVERCLOCKING: No
SLI: Yes, if I buy 2 cards

MONITOR RESOLUTION: 1680x1050