Sign in with
Your question

Nvidia 3d build (~$3500)

Last response: in Systems
April 17, 2011 9:13:11 AM

Hi,
I'm going to build new pc for games but I really don't know much about hw to do it alone, so I'm seeking an advice.

Approximate Purchase Date: soon

Budget Range: up to $3500 but no reason to buy the best components where price doubles and performance *= 1.15

System Usage from Most to Least Important: typical: gaming, development, movies, web...

Parts Not Required: keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: I'm from Slovakia and will probably use alza.sk but you can use anything for showing components and prices

Country of Origin: Slovakia

Parts Preferences: I'm no expert. I had a good experience with MSI for my old gtx 260 so maybe that and Gigabyte for motherboard (also my old and I'm satisfied). But as I said, I'm no expert so I will listen to your opinions.

Overclocking: Don't know. Never did something like that so probably no.

SLI or Crossfire: Yes two way SLI + third (my old) for psychX

Monitor Resolution: 1680x1050 for now, maybe later I will buy new 3d monitor with 1920x1080 but I also plan on buying projector some day for 3d (which would be fake full hd probably)

Additional Comments: quiet computer is always nice. I also want SSD and most probably raid 1 for hdd.

I decided to go with 2x gtx 570 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
plus my old one for physX so I need 3 slots on motherboard http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...

For case I guess I will need big tower but I'm really not sure which one is good and also I don't know what motherboard I should choose. They either look too expensive or it seems their gpu slots are too close so I may not be able to put all three cards there and if I will it would be nice if they had some air for cooling. I don't really understand practical difference between PCIE 16x and 8x.