When is more cores and GHz bad?

triggrhappy94

Distinguished
Mar 9, 2011
I'm still new to computer hardware, and I want to make sure I know everything I need to know.
So, when is more cores and GHz bad, or not benefical to a CPU's speed and performance.
Anything other tips about processors would be apreciated too

As iam2thecrowe said, it's never bad to have too many cores or more ghz (expect for when your Blue sceen of deathing the computer).

Although there is a point were you wont notice a difference between a lower core count/ lower Ghz cpu compared to a higher cpu. That would be due to the apps cant use all the cores and/or the cpu able to complete the tast fast enough that it not mattering.

Generally speaking, the more GHz the better. Also, the more cores the better as long as the program or game can make use of multiple cores. Right now most games only need two cores, some can use 3 mores, and few can use 4 cores.

The bad? Well that would be:

1. The game or program does not use all the cores in your CPU.
2. More GHz and more cores means more $$$.
3. More GHz and more cores means more heat.
4. More GHz and more cores means more electricity.

General tips:

1. Intel CPUs cost more than AMD CPUs because they perform better.
2. Build a computer around an AMD CPU and compatible motherboard if you are on a budget and can't afford to spend approximately $100 more for an Intel CPU and compatible motherboard.*
3. Buying a six core AMD CPU is a waste of money unless you use programs that you know can use all those cores.
4. Do not buy an Intel i7-2600k because games and the vast majority of programs used by ordinary users do not HyperThreading capabilities.
5. If you need to ask what is HyperThreading, then you definitely don't need it.