Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Need help with case standoff

Last response: in Systems
April 19, 2011 10:20:03 PM

Hi everyone,

I'm in a little bit of trouble with my case. Basically I have a standoff hole that is too big (4mm in width) and the standard brass standoffs won't fit in :( 

What I need is a standoff with a thread width around the same as the width of the top of a 6-32 standoff...

Can anyone please help me with this as I am lost.. Are there any alternatives for me or does anyone know of a standoff that would fit? Its only one hole by the way...

Thanks,
Ned

More about : case standoff

a b B Homebuilt system
April 19, 2011 10:38:07 PM

edit: is the width of the hole exactly 4mm? And its threaded?
m
l
April 19, 2011 11:12:56 PM

Hi :) 

The hole is 4mm from my measurements and I think the reason that it is bigger is that a person drilled it when removing a hard drive cage that was taking up space.

I guess the hole isn't threaded :( 

Sorry, i'm not good at this

Damn it, doesn't look like I can do much with this
m
l
Related resources
a c 84 B Homebuilt system
April 19, 2011 11:17:52 PM

If you are unable to use only one standoff, don't worry about it, at least with a atx mothewrboard with 9 holes. The remaining standoffs will support the motherboard just fine.

m
l

Best solution

a b B Homebuilt system
April 19, 2011 11:24:56 PM

are the rest of the standoffs 1/2" in length? Can you access the other side of the sheet with the hole in it? If youre willing to spend the money, you could go to mcmaster.com and search for
92499A460
The m4 male thread may be able to thread itself into that 4mm hole. If not, push it through and fasten it on the other side with an m4 nut. This will also probably work with an 8-32 male thread, and maybe even a 6-32.

option 2: use a long 6-32 screw and a bunch of washers or nuts to act as spacers