[SOLVED] MSI 890FXA-GD70: FF Debug code, won't load to edit BIOS

trikitiger

Distinguished
Apr 20, 2011
To start off, yes I am a novice builder. I've been reading up on the FF error everywhere on the net, and most say they're also receiving the D1 error loop. I'm not even getting that. Before I get onto my trials, here are the hardware specs:

MoBo - MSI 890FXA-GD70
CPU - AMD Phenom II X4
RAM - GSkill 2Gig 1333 DDR3 (X2)
PSU - Thermaltake 750W 12V (115 - 210 Volt input, automatic changing)
GPU - ATI Radeon HD 4800 series (X1)
HDD - WD Caviar Blue 500 Gig, Sata2(3Gig)
Disc - LG Lightscribe DVD (currently unplugged as of this post)

Though I've made a couple of mistakes during the build (and have fixed them) I'm up to booting up the computer with no results.

I have placed the CPU in, making sure that the arrow on both the motherboard and the CPU were matching (as the book said) as well as followed the instructions on correctly fastening the CPU in place (pull this lever, push this lever down, that kind of stuff). I am 100% certain the CPU is correctly in place.

Afterwards I placed in my Memory, at first in the wrong slot but promptly putting them in the right ones. Since this all started, I've taken out one of the RAM sticks to make sure I'm not getting another error that's been reported (having a second stick causes MoBo to crash system), that's where that is.

After which I've plugged in my GPU, HDD, and Disc drive with no problems (right slot, right connections). However the PSU gave my a couple of loops to jump through. I used the 4+4 pin to power up the 8-pin ATX8 for the CPU, I can use a 4-pin if I need to however. I've then plugged in a PCI cable into the PSU (one of the red plugs on the PSU that connects to a PCI card at the other end) and plugged that into my Graphics card.