Sign in with
Your question

Looking for a new CPU mostly for MMOs

Last response: in CPUs
Anonymous
a b à CPUs
July 20, 2011 8:22:08 PM

Hey there, my current CPU which is Phenom X4 II 940 BE 3GHZ really does not fit it anymore, I mostly play MMOs, well, only MMOs and for that you need really beast CPU. I was thinking of i5-2400/2500 or should I wait and see how the new bulldozers turn out? Rest of my rig - GTX 460 1GB, 4GB of RAM DDR2 (would also need to buy DDR3), Fusion Bulk 550W, W7-64bit. Basically I am looking for a cpu that will run most (all) MMOs really well as I think my GTX 460 is enough for all of them. And for budget, I really dont know, but I can not afford i7-2600 or anything of that sort.

Edit: Edit: I would also like to mention that I am not really planning on OCing, I have no experience in the field and I do not want anything melted or destroyed.

Thanks in advance

Regards

More about : cpu mmos

a b à CPUs
July 20, 2011 9:12:14 PM

Ok, just some questions to help simplify.

What MMO's are you playing?

What resolution are you playing games at?
Anonymous
a b à CPUs
July 20, 2011 9:18:13 PM

I am playing at 1680x1050. At the moment, I am playing Aion, LOTRO, RIFT, I mean, I can play all of the listed games somewhat fine, but it really is not that great, but I would also like to gear up for the future games for example TERA Online, Guild Wars 2, SWTOR.

Thanks
Related resources
a c 103 à CPUs
July 20, 2011 9:25:59 PM

I would be surprised if your current CPU is holding back your 460 very much if at all, I therefore don't think you will see very much improvement regardless of what upgrade you get. If you do want to upgrade now can you afford an i5 2500K its as good as gaming CPUs get.
Anonymous
a b à CPUs
July 20, 2011 9:30:28 PM

Well, I think that my CPU is the bottleneck in most of the MMOs I am playing.
a c 103 à CPUs
July 20, 2011 9:35:25 PM