Sign in with
Your question

Gaming PC ~$2,000. First time builder needs advice!

Last response: in Systems
April 21, 2011 12:35:38 AM

Approximate Purchase Date: Essentials within the next month, extras every two weeks afterward.
Budget Range: ~$2000 over time.
System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, 3D Modeling/Editing, Movies, Net, etc..
Parts Not Required: OS, Speakers, Mouse, Keyboard
Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Buy.com or Tigerdirect.com I get 5% cash back from either of them.
Country of Origin: USA
Parts Preferences: Liquid cooling for reduced noise and to keep things running smooth when I start Overclocking.
Overclocking: Eventually.
SLI or Crossfire: Eventually.
Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080
Additional Comments: Something quiet and easy to upgrade a few parts every couple of years to stay current.

---

I've done some shopping around but I'm really not sure if the parts I've found will come together into a great system as I've never built my own before. There's a few things I'm just plain unsure about, particularly finding a liquid cooling system that will fit my needs and my case. ANY suggestions or recommendations you might have will be greatly appreciated!

Case: Cooler Master HAF 932, seems to have enough space for everything I want and with easy access.

Motherboard: ASUS P8P67-M PRO, USB 3.0, Crossfire ready, looks good.

Processor: Unlocked 2nd gen i7

Graphics Card(s):
MSI R6950 TWIN FROZR II on cburke82 recommendation.

Memory:
Unsure. What would be the best type/brand for my build? How Much?

Power Supply: Unsure how much I need for when I'm eventually running Crossfire. 1000w?

Liquid Cooling: Again I'm not sure here, new to Liquid cooling. Something that cools both CPU and GPU for when I'm Overclocked/Crossfire? Needs to fit in the HAF 932 unless you can recommend a better case.

System Storage: Intel 510 Series 120gb SSD

Data Storage: Western Digital Green 3tb, very beefy but I've seen a lot of mixed reviews. Any recommendations?