Sign in with
Your question

Just looking for seal of approval and possible issues

Last response: in Systems
April 21, 2011 7:38:41 PM

this is my first build, its a gaming machine and im looking to pull the trigger tonight and here are the parts im planning on using;

Intel Core i7 2600k 3.4GHz Socket 1155 8MB Cache Retail Boxed Processor

Asus P8P67 Pro R3 P67 Socket 1155 8 Channel HD Audio ATX Motherboard

Corsair 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1600MHz XMS3 Memory Kit CL9 1.65V

Gigabyte GTX 560 OC 1GB GDDR5 Dual DVI Mini HDMI Out PCI-E Graphics Card

Corsair 750W HX Modular PSU

Coolermaster CM 690 II Advanced Case

Samsung HD103SJ Spinpoint F3 1TB Hard Drive SATAII 7200rpm 32MB Cache

Samsung SH-S223L 22x DVD±RW DL & RAM with LightScribe SATA Optical Drive - Retail Box Black

Cisco Linksys WUSB600N Dual-Band Wireless-N300 USB Adapter

Total Cost: £950 shipped for saturday.

As I said looking to buy tonight so just thought id gather opinions, my preferences for the mobo is set, that is the board i want for its pcie layout so that is pretty much set, 950 is my absolute limit and i want to use ebuyer.com as my only website simply because its easier to buy from one place.

as for custom cpu cooler, dont think ill bother this time round, that can be an upgrade later as i plan to add a second gpu to this as well as a second hdd for raid 0 and an ssd for boot drive, thats all for now. No operating system or screen is required.

Look forward to any advice.

More about : seal approval issues

April 22, 2011 2:33:58 AM

You should really drop to 1.5v RAM. The site you listed only had 2 choices, both £15 more, but its (a) lower voltage (which the SandyBridge likes), and (b) slightly higher quality RAM:

http://www.ebuyer.com/product/248844

If you're not getting an aftermarket CPU cooler you wont be doing any significant OC, so you might consider losing the 'K' version which would save some money.
April 22, 2011 7:40:22 AM