2500k running too hot

dan2222

Distinguished
Oct 12, 2010
Can anyone offer any suggestions for lowering my idle cpu temps. I have a coolermaster cm 690 ii advanced, with the stock fans, and a coolermaster hyper 212 plus. Right now my idle teps are 39 35 38 35 and thats with the side panel off. My ambient is around 26 degrees

JordoR

Distinguished
Jan 10, 2010
Those idle temps are perfectly normal...nothing to be alarmed about in my mind.

However, how long have you had your PC assembled and running? As you may already know thermal paste has varied cure times based on brand. Leaving prime 95 running for a few hours or overnight, can ensure that the paste will properly cure and fill all voids properly in between the CPU and heatsink.

In my past experience, I have seen idle temps drop 5-10d C just by doing the above. What is your temp at load? As well, sometimes having the side panel off on cases can actually have a negative effect on the airflow in the case.

dan2222

Distinguished
Oct 12, 2010
Ok i had the rig for six months, have re seated cpu and cooler about seven times with not much different results. I used a little more paste a little less, applied it differently etc, cause i thought i must be doing it wrong as this was my first build.

At load with prime after about an hour temps wont go above 59. couple of cores stay at 55.

JordoR

Distinguished
Jan 10, 2010
Full load at around 60c is not a huge deal. 80 is the max you want to hit and unless you do a lot of overclocking I doubt you will reach it.

dan2222

Distinguished
Oct 12, 2010
but i do want to overclock now and am worried it might get a bit high. I was thinking of adding two 140mm fans at bottom for intake and an extra 140mm exhaust at top, so i would have three intakes and three exhausts blowing diagonally from from front bottom to top rear. Do u think this would improve it

dan2222

Distinguished
Oct 12, 2010