2600k runs HOT stock

Status
Not open for further replies.

yumcax

Distinguished
Jul 18, 2011
I was experiencing random crashes (reboots) when playing games. So I ran GPU and CPU stress tests (at the same time) and very quickly the CPU reached 85c, so I stopped and I assume that the CPU is the problem. GPUs never got above 65c.
Build:
ASUS P8Z68-V PRO
8GB DDR3
i7 2600k (stock cooler)
2x EVGA SC 560 Ti SLI
Antec 1200 (good cooling)

Now, this is my first build and I haven't messed around with OC at all, on any components. Strangely, though, in AI Suite BLCK is showing as 100.3 and the multiplier is 35. Isn't stock 100&34?

I checked and that TPU thing is off, is there any reason that these settings are changed? Is it likely that this is a problem with the chip and I should return it? Or is the stock cooler simply not capable of keeping the CPU cool at stock (or slightly above) speeds!?

Thanks for any help!

Solution
First off, the odds are there is nothing wrong with your cpu. The cooler is most likely installed improperly, or the fan is not working.

If the fan is spinning, check the rear of your mobo to make certain that the little clips on the end of the cooler's white split-pins are hooked behind the mobo, and the black pin is down far enough to force them to stay in place.

If you can't see the back of the mobo easily, another way to test this is to grab the cpu cooler and try to rock it. If it shifts at all, it is installed improperly.

I haven't used a stock cooler in a while, but was there a sheet of material covering the paste that's pre-applied? If so, did you remove that sheet?

Asus probably tweaked the standard BCLK setting to gain a...
First off, the odds are there is nothing wrong with your cpu. The cooler is most likely installed improperly, or the fan is not working.