Sign in with
Your question

I recently got a new motherboard and after i put things together it wont boot

Last response: in Motherboards
April 8, 2012 1:28:53 PM

Hello,
As the title says. I took parts from my old computer that is broken and put it together. The led on the motherboard is on that means it's getting power but it will not turn on. I dont know if this is a PSU problem or not i am not that good at computer. This is my first time putting together a computer by the way.

Specs that i know
Motherboard: ASUS M5A78L-M/USB3
RAM: Kingston DDR3 2GB x 2
CPU: Cant remember brand but 2.8 Ghz Dual core
Graphic Card: Nvidia Geforce GT315
HDD: 160 Gb (Primary) 1 Tb (Secondary)
PSU: Not really sure, it's from Acer Aspire x3400

Thank you for any help

Oops, sorry if i posted in a wrong section
a b Ĉ ASUS
a c 236 V Motherboard
April 8, 2012 4:24:56 PM

You should provide a complete list of components. What model was the old motherboard? Is the AMD CPU compatible with the new motherboard? The ASUS M5A78L-M/USB3 includes a GPU; have you tried removing the graphics card and connect your monitor to the onboard GPU?
April 8, 2012 5:11:11 PM

GhislainG said:
You should provide a complete list of components. What model was the old motherboard? Is the AMD CPU compatible with the new motherboard? The ASUS M5A78L-M/USB3 includes a GPU; have you tried removing the graphics card and connect your monitor to the onboard GPU?

My old computer was Acer Aspire x3400. I have no idea what my old mother board is. I will try hooking it to the GPU now and i will come back and tell you what happen
Related resources
a b Ĉ ASUS
a c 236 V Motherboard
April 8, 2012 5:52:09 PM

Is this your old motherbaord? http://www.ebay.com/itm/ACER-ASPIRE-X3400-DESKTOP-MOTHE... How are you trying to power up the new motherboard? By shorting out the power pins on the front panel connector? If using the X3400 case, was the FP wiring standard or specific to Acer?
April 8, 2012 8:35:26 PM

GhislainG said: