New gaming build around $1500

trumpet_king

Distinguished
Jul 22, 2009
Just realized I put this under Homebuilt instead of New build. Is there anyway to change this?

So, I'm looking to finally build myself a PC. My last attempt about 2 years ago was ruined when my old laptop died. I'm really looking forward to building a new PC, the market right now seems especially nice. I am new at this so please bare with me. Also if I make any obvious mistakes like in compatible parts or an obvious bottleneck I won't be offended if you are blunt with me.

Approximate Purchase Date: Within the next two weeks.

Budget Range: $1400-$1550

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, Multi-tasking, web-browsing, VPCs, programming

Parts Not Required: Speakers, Monitor

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: No strong preference but, I'll probably shop Newegg based on their good customer service and generally good prices.

Country of Origin: USA

Parts Preferences: Any preferences described below.

Overclocking: Yes some moderate overclocking. With the i5 2500k how can you not.

SLI or Crossfire: No but in the future likely yes.

Monitor Resolution: 1920x1200. Likely be using dual screens in the future, both at 1920x1200

Additional Comments: This will be my first build. I would prefer it to be relatively quite, but that shouldn't be a major factor in the decision. Also, I tend to like the ability to turn off any LED lights.

If you want to just straight to my newegg wish list here is the link.

I'm also going to list them below with some additional comments.

CPU: Intel Core i5-2500K This part seems like a clear winner. I don't think it's likely you can convince me to change CPUs but I'm always willing to listen. Overclocking this for sure. $224.99

CPU Cooling Fan: COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 Plus I've only heard good things about this guy. $34.99 -$8 because it combos with CPU.