Sign in with
Your question

Geforece 9800 GT failure? ETA: now I need a new GPU

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
February 22, 2011 3:53:11 PM

Hello,

I've been using a home built desktop since August 2008 (I've pasted in full specs at the end). It has run very well with hardly any issues since then.

Last night, we arrived back home from nearly a week away. I started the computer and loaded up Lord of the Rings Online. As I was going to choose my character, the screen got a reddish hue and then the display went black.

We tried restarting the computer, but there are lines across the screen at one point and then green squares at another point. The screen goes black as it is trying to load up windows. The only way we can get it to load so we can see is in safe mode.

I tried doing a clean install of the video drivers & once that was complete, graphics did seem normal and the computer loaded normally. Until I tried to play a youtube video and then the screen went black again. I've tried reinstalling the video drivers as well as reseating the card (and getting the dust out of the case).

Has my graphics card failed? Or could it be something else?

Thanks!

System info:
Seagate Barracuda 250GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Hard Drive

CORSAIR XMS2 DHX 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model TWIN2X4096-6400C4DHX

ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro Rev.2 92mm Fluid Dynamic CPU Cooler

EVGA 512-P3-N976-AR GeForce 9800 GT Superclocked Edition 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported ...

ASUS P5QL PRO LGA 775 Intel P43 ATX Intel Motherboard

Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz LGA 775 95W Quad-Core Processor HH80562PH0568M - OEM

CORSAIR Enthusiast Series CMPSU-650TX 650W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready PSU

ASUS 20X DVD±R DVD Burner with LightScribe Black SATA Model DRW-2014L1T LightScribe Support