6 years since last upgrade and need advice

Brotoss

Distinguished
Apr 28, 2011
Hi guys

I haven’t upgraded in about 6 years (running a E2160 at the moment, I have a floppy drive but disconnected it :D ) and now I’m trying to build a PC which will last for the next 6 if that’s possible. Importing into Africa is a nightmare so the pricing is too skewed for any “get this rather part its 10$ cheaper” advice but I would really appreciate any help because as I said I’ll probably have this PC for another 6 years and being a student I don’t have money to waste.

Approximate Purchase Date: 2 weeks from now

Budget Range: around 700$ at newegg prices I think, before rebates

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, surfing web, movies

Parts not required: keyboard, mouse, hardrive, speakers, monitor, OS and case

Preferred Website for Parts: http://www.comx.co.za/pdf_files/comx-computers-price-list.pdf the exchange rate is R6.71 to the dollar but like I said it won’t be much use.

Country of Origin: South Africa

Parts Preferences: The best value for money

Overclocking: Maybe

SLI or Crossfire: No

Monitor Resolution 1920x1080

Where I have given more than one option is where I’m undecided between the two. I’m giving prices converted to dollars with my choices so that you guys can compare the cost vs. performance increase and hopefully advise which choice I should take. If there is another part which you think I should consider please let me know and I’ll check the catalogue to see if it’s available and at what price.

Current Build:

CPU:
i5 2500K 291$
i5 2500 278$

GPU:
Club 3D 6790 203$
Saphire 5850 314$
Asus 5870 2gb 399$

Motherboard:
Intel blkdh67gdb3 135$
MSI P67A-c43b3 179$

RAM:
Kingston 8gb 2x4gb ddr3 1333 cl9 130$

PSU:
Coolermaster GX 550w 90$

Additional Comments: