2500k New Build, Need help with options!

tacloban

Distinguished
Mar 8, 2011
This is my first build in years but this is what I think that I want so far... ( I plan on buying within the next few days)

($329) i5-2500k & MSI P67A-G43 CPU/MOBO Combo
(109.99) HAF 912 & RS650 650watt coolermaster CASE/PSU Combo
(59.99) Western Digital HDD 640GB
(20.99) LG DVD Burner

Total so far is ($520)

I still need RAM and eventually when I can afford it I want to put in a HD 6950 (XFX b/c of lifetime warranty)

I was thinking about just putting in 4GB XMS3 ram (its really cheap) I am scraping the money bucket on this one and need to keep it cheap.

Please let me know what you think!

Thanks,

Ben

Solution
The i5-2500k is a great choice. The motherboard will be fine unless you want an extreme overclock as it doesn't has as much as some of the high priced boards.

RAM is RAM. Corsair is usually higher in price with less performance than other brands such as Mushkin and OCZ. Just find a good deal on a nice pair and you'll be fine as long as its DDR3 of coarse.

I would invest more in a different HDD. The faster HDD come in 500GB or 1TB generally speaking. The Samsung F3 series is a great choice.

The HAF912 is perfect for your needs. Keep it if you can live with how ugly it is.

BohleyK

Distinguished
Oct 8, 2009
The i5-2500k is a great choice. The motherboard will be fine unless you want an extreme overclock as it doesn't has as much as some of the high priced boards.

RAM is RAM. Corsair is usually higher in price with less performance than other brands such as Mushkin and OCZ. Just find a good deal on a nice pair and you'll be fine as long as its DDR3 of coarse.

I would invest more in a different HDD. The faster HDD come in 500GB or 1TB generally speaking. The Samsung F3 series is a great choice.

The HAF912 is perfect for your needs. Keep it if you can live with how ugly it is.

Solution

tacloban

Distinguished
Mar 8, 2011