Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Video editor need your help !!!!!

Last response: in Systems
April 29, 2011 3:22:49 PM

I am a video editor, not a gamer. I found so many threads for gamers, but not so much info for serious video editors. And I am so confused about one thing for which I didn't get answers for. I am building a new system with GTX570 and 2600K. My main question is...should I wait for z68 or not? Quick Sync feature is very enticing for my job of transcoding, but is it producing better and faster video output than running with GTX570 and P67? or is it better with H67 without GTX570? Can I use Quick Sync with H67 AND GTX570? Is a discrete GPU adding a benefit to H67 after all? Again, I do NOT do gaming, and if you could kindly give me your expertise on my questions, it would be so much appreciated.

More about : video editor

April 29, 2011 5:55:22 PM

For transcoding, the software (CPU based) is the best
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/video-transcoding-a...

If you use software transcoding you don't need a powerful GPU (or a dedicated GPU at all if you have IGP on the CPU). If you want to use QS AND a video card you must wait for the z68. Without, you can use QS and the H67 and the IGP on the CPU (no video card). If you want to use the video card, AMD is better than Nvidia.

m
l

Best solution

April 30, 2011 12:37:44 AM

Well, the H67 CAN do Quick Sync and discrete card, but it cannot overclock CPU using the multiplier, so the K in 2600K is essentially wasted with an H67. If you use the H67 chipset, get an i7 2600; it loses out on overclocking with the multiplier but is a bit less expensive and even has some security features the 2600K does not.