Sign-in / Sign-up
Your question

If consumers can make a 6970 out of a 6950 and save $100...

Tags:
  • Radeon
  • AMD
  • Components
  • Graphics
Last response: in Graphics Cards
February 25, 2011 5:57:59 PM

Why hasn't AMD canceled sales of the 6950s?

I'm new to the hardcore, spend-hours-discussing-components crowd, but is it a common practice for companies to release 'locked' components? I mean, I see so much information about unlocking CPUs to have more cores, unlocking GPUs to perform better, and so on... how do companies manage to sell the 'higher end' components when they're identical except for artificial restrictions the companies put on? I mean, AMD has to realize that people are buying 6950s and getting a 6970 (after unlocking), which hurts sales of the 6970 proper... am I missing something here?

More about : consumers make 6970 6950 save 100

February 25, 2011 6:12:03 PM

An unlocked 6950 no longer has a warranty. Some people have bricked their 6950 by unlocking it and now they are out the cost of the card.
m
l
February 25, 2011 6:16:18 PM

clarkjd said:
An unlocked 6950 no longer has a warranty. Some people have bricked their 6950 by unlocking it and now they are out the cost of the card.

Ah.

Do all unlocking operations on components (GPUs and CPUs) have the risk of bricking? I mean, it seems a pretty common recommendation (even here on Tom's) for people to buy such and such a component and unlock it for a low-budget solution.
m
l
Related resources
Can't find your answer ? Ask !
February 25, 2011 6:26:58 PM