Sign in with
Your question

New AMD First Time All Web Build

Last response: in Systems
May 3, 2011 4:07:15 AM

Hello all, this is my first time building a computer entirely from newegg. I need to make sure ive got everything i need and it's all compatible. I checked and double checked the mobo and Scythe Cooler with the dimensions of the case and i believe it should fit. I've already got a mouse to use, as I'm building a computer to play some better games than my laptop can handle when I'm at home. Here's the list:

http://secure.newegg.com/WishList/PublicWishDetail.aspx?WishListNumber=23482768

More about : amd time web build

May 3, 2011 5:21:28 AM

The HD 5850 is cheaper and better than that 6790. I think most would reccommend an i3 over the AMD 925, if you really want an AMD why not go with the 955 it has the unlocked multiplier for an easy overclock and you already have an aftermarket cooler in your budget. That seems like a good board but there are AM3+ compatible boards from most of the major manufactuers, this would open up future cpu upgrades.
m
l
May 3, 2011 5:28:05 AM
Related resources
May 3, 2011 5:39:22 AM

I wanted to stick with the AMD CPU and GPU because i hear there is more potential for overclocking there, which i intend to do after I replace the case fans (which i am certain will die in several weeks). I didn't want to go with a cheap PSU because i dont have time to RMA a cheapo PSU, so I figured id get a GPU that would make use of it. I added the 955 BE, the 21" Hann and the 5850. After some research on techpowerup, it seems that the OC potential of the 5850 is greater than the the 6790. Since im going to be waiting a few weeks to buy new case fans I can wait to buy the new cpu fan and heatsink as well. The only limitation i had was keeping it under $900.
m
l
May 3, 2011 6:02:38 AM