Desperate need for Media / Backup / File Server, Build

Joebatz

Distinguished
May 3, 2011
Hello,I have been researching for some time (over 4 years) to build a media / backup / file server, etc; as time goes by I have more necessities / possible solutions to demands.

Unfortunately I am the go to guy for family issues that constantly has my attention redirected and by the time I get back to the PC Solution, newer technology / forum postings and articles (not necessarily in that order) force me to reconsider prior spec decisions that warrant further review, that has turned into a vicious cycle with inadequate patches to problems further exasperating the situation. (sorry for the brain vomit)

Last year my wife decided to go with a Mac (no knowledge) and expected me to solve the issues that arose; followed by the birth of my daughter (Luna) with tons of HD/R pictures and videos that need to be taken out of her Mac (full) and my PC for proper storage/backup and retrieval.

Most of my computer knowledge comes from researching websites/forums and spending countless hours putting together / taking apart hardware and loading and unloading software (blood, sweat and tears). I have put together a couple of bare bones systems (cpu preloaded) and sense I have a clue, until the next system failure that has me back to the manual, tech support, forums, etc..

I have an old Samsung 52” LCD and an older 32” CRT that I plan on upgrading when it dies or the 3D systems work the bugs out and become more affordable?

I need a system with serious (1 to 2 Tb) affordable redundant (x3 or 4) storage for pictures/video/files etc. (networked for PC and Mac)

HDMI output for current and future LCD Monitors (2, maybe 3) for viewing before mentioned and internet TV/Movies (cut the cable TV dependency and upgrade internet bandwidth); and whatever else you guys may think of that I have forgotten (2 days to write this wish list).