PC buzzes, freezes, Crashes and corrupts files

chaotic_cannon

Distinguished
Jul 8, 2010
Ok,

I have a system that has been working perfectly for months. I have been using this system for some time (since June 2011) and then I threw in an awesome SSD in November and again the system has been flawless since then. When I put the SSD in I did all the tweaks as recommended in many places (disable hibernation and pre-fetch, move the user files, etc).

I am an avid gamer and I play when ever I have free time. You will see from my system specs just below that my rig can handle most games.

Here are my specs:
Gigabyte x58a-ud3r rev 2
2 x ATI XFX 6950 in Crossfire
12 Gig of RAM
2 x 500 GB Western Digital Caviar Blue HDD storage drives (pictures, user files, games, general programs installed)
1 x OCZ 120GB AGILITY 3 SERIES SATA III 2.5 as main drive
Win7 64bit
1000 Ultra PSU
2 monitors

So I was playing Eve Online (which I have been playing for months on this PC) and I got to a point where I interacted with another player character and the game froze for about 30 seconds, the screen flashed, I could not x out of the game, I could not ctrl+alt+del anything, etc. The game finally came out of it but then 30 seconds later the whole PC crashed.

I rebooted and the game would not start up. I had to reinstall. Fine, I 4.5 gig game reinstall is a pain but then it got worse.

I use team speak 3 while playing to chat to other people in game. After the reinstall I played for a few hours and then there was a buzzing sound in my earphone and the game hung for a second or two. Then all was ok. This happened again 10, 20 or 30 min later. Then the buzzing came again but then the game froze entirely again and would not unstick. I could talk on TS3 with my mic but I could not open or close any windows. Ctrl+alt+del did nothing. After 5 min I had to do a hard power down.