Good graphic card upgrade for my system

unsung_0

Honorable
Apr 17, 2012
Hello,
I am looking to upgrade my graphics card without having to upgrade my components as I do not have the means to do so right now. Here are the specs of my setup:
Asus M2N-SLI Deluxe
Nvidia GT240 graphics card
AMD Athlon 5600+ dual core CPU
Windows home premium 64bit
Antec 600W PSU
NZXT Phantom 410 case

Any help is greatly appreciated thank you

tonytober

Honorable
Apr 16, 2012

You don't really have to upgrade your components if you're stuck with a budget. What is your budget limit? I suggest you to buy an ATi HD 6950, does the job well. Best for the price paid.

unsung_0

Honorable
Apr 17, 2012
I can spend about $200 maybe more if I wait a little bit. I'm not a fan of Ati cards. Do you know of a good nvidia card? I've been searching online but a lot of forums I find are old and have been no help. I'm new to computer builds and have the basic idea, I transferred all my components from my old case to the new phantom I bought without needing help and it works great. If I were to go with a Ati card would I have to remove all the drivers for my nvidia card to have it work on my computer properly? Sorry for such a noob question just trying to get more info, thanks!

unsung_0

Honorable
Apr 17, 2012

Do you know of a god nvidia equivelant?

unsung_0

Honorable
Apr 17, 2012

Was thinking of upgrading my CPU to a phenom II X4 940 as my mobo BIOS is 5001 and from Asus's website it is a CPU that is compatible with this bios rev

unsung_0

Honorable
Apr 17, 2012