Advice please on CPU and motherboard

adamuk

Distinguished
Jul 10, 2011
Hello guys,

I'm Adam and im pretty new to computer upgrading etc so go easy on me :) just looking for a little advice please.

Right, I have a packard Bell intel core 2 quad Q8300 on a EG43M Motherboard.

Now I know I am VERY restricted to what I can upgrade on this as its prebuilt (dont shoot me had it about 2 years I know I am silly), However I brought a GTX 560ti from Scan and a 650w PSU a few weeks back.

I use Microsoft’s flight simulator, and have been told I am bottlenecking quite badly with this as i am still getting poor FPS in flight simulators.

I've been advised that flight Sims run mostly off CPU not GPU, so how can i go about upgrading this?

Would I be right in saying I could buy a case and then a CPU & Motherboard and id be able to do this??

btw, ive looked on Scan and found a prebuilt over clocked bundle,

Smart - Intel Core i5 2500K - Over clocked to 4.5Ghz - Updated August.

Does this sound viable or am I way off?? Also wasn’t looking to spend any more than around £350 if that’s possible??

Thanks a lot, Adam.

djabhi003

Distinguished
Jun 25, 2011
The Overclocked i5-2500K And Motherboard Are Great! Just Check What Cooler They Have,Wether Its Branded Or Not!(Like Coolermaster,Antec)!
Also The The 650W PSU Is Great For The Setup, And The GPU Is Definitely Good!
So I Would Say Just Go With It!

And Yeah,Do Get A New Case, For Better Airflow As Your i5 is already Overclocked!
Preferably An Antec Case!

Uther39

Distinguished
Well Adam, i have been using Scan for 10 years now, and they have been truly excellent, so im sure there bundle will be top notch, but if you give us a link to that bundle i will take a look for you and give you my opinion.

Uther39

Distinguished
Ok I found the bundle you were talking about and it looks good value for money but you must buy a decent case I rec a coolermaster haf 912 from scan also @ £62

billj214

Distinguished
Jan 27, 2009