Need advice on graphics card upgrade

oharla1

Distinguished
Feb 28, 2011
hi guys, would upgrading my graphics card make a significant difference to my PC's performance when playing games?
i currently have 'ATI RADEON 3000' and would be look to upgrade to a card like 'RADEON HD 57702'
Im running

windows 7 home premium
AMD Anthlon II X2 215 2.70GHz
2.00 GB RAM
64 bit

Im new to computers so any advice on anything :) :) would appreciated

rockyjohn

Distinguished
It could make a big difference, although the upper limit will be constrained by the CPU which is not very fast. If possible, you should consider also upgrading CPU and adding 2 more GB of memory.

But you need to provide more infomation/
What games? What resolution of monitor?
What budget?
Describe system in more detail - if a packaged system, provide make and model. Other wise identify mobo and PSU. On packaged systems the power supply often severaly limits upgrade possibilities.

To learn more about upgrading, I recommend visitng the site upgradevideocards.com which has a lot of helpful information, especially for new upgraders, and information about identifying system requirements, choices, and basic video upgrades.

http://www.upgradevideocards.com/index.html

oharla1

Distinguished
Feb 28, 2011

thanks big help! :)

the screen res is 1600 x 900
the model number is SG3-110UK
i'd want to play many games but mainly RTS's like total war, i have £100 to £150 max to play around with

Griffolion

Distinguished
May 28, 2009
You're not going to need anything more than a 5770, maybe a 5750.

I'd firstly upgrade to 4GB (2 x 2GB) RAM, that is essential.

Then look at a graphics card upgrade.

Possibly look at OC'ing your processor too.

oharla1

Distinguished
Feb 28, 2011
alright thanks so if i put that card in there would be a improvement? and how much would increasing the RAM be?

lilcinw

Distinguished
Jan 25, 2011