Building First System. Need Some Help!!

idjlee96

Distinguished
May 6, 2011
Hey, So this is my first time building a computer and I will be following the format given.

Approximate Purchase Date: ASAP (Within 2 Weeks)

Budget Range: 1000-1500 (Trying to stay as close to 1000 as possible)

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, Video Editing & Recording, Photoshop, Surfing, and the General

Parts Not Required: Keyboard, Mouse, Monitor (may upgrade in the future)

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Definitely Newegg.ca (Canada)

Country of Origin: Canada

Parts Preferences: Intel CPU, MoBo with USB 3.0 is a must,

Overclocking: Maybe, still new to the whole thing

SLI or Crossfire: Maybe, again still new to the whole thing

Monitor Resolution: 1680x1050

Additional Comments:I would like some basic knowledge and builds I could go for. I had a couple things I had in mind, I will mention them below. I also would like to know what exactly is essential to have and what I can wait to get/pass. Again, this is my first time so any general help would be greatly appreciated. I am doing my own research and reading through alot of helpful posts. Hope you guys can help

(Things I had in mind)
-Gigabyte/Asus MoBo (USB 3.0) (Of course depends on what CPU i decide to go with)
-Intel i7 950 3.06 Ghz Bloomfield -
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Produ [...] 6819115211
-Intel i7 2600k Sandy Bridge
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Produ [...] 6819115070

Cheers, and Thanks!!

striker410

Distinguished
Well, I can tell you Sandy Bridge is the way to go. They are faster, smaller, cheaper, and cooler. It's the best option right now.
Also, if you go sandy bridge (which I would encourage highly) get the i5-2500k, as the 2600k and 2500k are identical, except the former has hyperthreading.

idjlee96

Distinguished
May 6, 2011