Sign in with
Your question

Asus M4a78 Plus want to upgrade video card gtx 590

Last response: in Motherboards
April 21, 2012 7:37:35 PM

Hello,
I was wondering if my Asus M4a78 plus motherboard is compatible with the graphics card ge force gtx 590? Im new to upgrading stuff decided want to give it a try. I have the cooler masters 600w. Giving the research I did I think I need to upgrade my power supplies to 750w + any suggestions on which power supplies is good? The main concern about it is the motherboard. Do I need to upgrade my motherboard to get the full access ability of the gtx 590 video card?
a b V Motherboard
April 21, 2012 7:57:25 PM

Why would you want a 590? If you wait a bit you can get the 680 or the 7970 now which are cheaper and perform better in the 680's favor and about equal to the 7970 or a bit under.
m
l
April 21, 2012 8:08:24 PM

ok thanks. Do I need to upgrade the motherboard or it has nothing to do with it?
m
l
Related resources
a b V Motherboard
April 21, 2012 8:13:38 PM

Well your motherboard would be fine for holding the GPU. Problem is that it holds an AMD CPU which depending on the model might bottleneck the GPU you upgrade to. The PSU should be fine though wattage wise, not one of the PSU brands I would buy from though.
m
l
April 22, 2012 1:24:06 AM

Awesome thanks! What can I do to prevent it from bottleneck?
m
l
a b V Motherboard
April 22, 2012 2:11:28 AM

Well what chip is it? If it is a phenom ll, you can overclock it a bit and be fine.
m
l
April 22, 2012 2:46:20 AM

amd phenom ii x3 720 processor 3cpu ~2.8 ghz. how do i overclock it? yea sorry im such a noob.
m
l
a b V Motherboard
April 22, 2012 3:39:49 AM
a b V Motherboard
April 22, 2012 6:31:33 AM

Since you do already have an aftermarket CPU cooler you will be fine reusing that. Only thing you would have to buy to reuse it is thermal paste. It just helps the transfer of heat between the CPU and CPU cooler. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...