Need a second opinion on an upgrade! Help?

saneac2

Distinguished
May 8, 2011
So. I haven't upgraded my rig since 2k5 (or around there, I lose track), and things have gotten pretty shabby in the interim.

Currently I have...

Intel C2D E6600 (2.4) + Asus p5b Deluxe Wifi (only supports PCI Express X16)
2GB DDR2 400
Nvidia 6600 GT

Thinking of upgrading to...

Core i5 - 2500k (3.3ghz) + Asrock p67 Extreme
8GB DDR3 1600
Radeon HD 6950 (2gb)

My needs have changed a lot over the years. I'm a law student now so I don't get to do as much gaming as I used to. It's great when I can, but there just isn't a lot of time and the ps3 is there when I need a fix. Still, don't see any point in half arsing it and I need to buy a second monitor anyway because I spend so much time flipping between multiple documents that the old alt + tab game is getting tiresome.

I was hoping to be able to get through this upgrade originally without swapping mobo's and CPU's. I figured I could just overclock the e6600, buy a new graphics card, and that would be fine (even for a bit of gaming). But that x16 on the p5b and DDR2 is hard to work with. So I guess what I'm wondering is, is it worth trying to plan an upgrade around that old p5b or do I just need to go on and scrap it and go with the upgrades I listed?

crewton

Distinguished
Apr 3, 2011
Not sure what you mean by "only PCIe x16" but I had your similar predicament and decided it was time for a new rig. I went with what I have in the sig. I am very happy I switched as it was a much needed improvement. Guess it really depends on if you have the cash or not.

You will find a second monitor is a most useful addition.

Why not just connect it to your 6600gt? You may need a vga to dvi or hdmi adapter if it did not come with your 6600gt.