Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Need Help- Best graphics card, 3 monitors, new build

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
March 4, 2011 12:36:38 PM

Hello,

I am a newbie and would greatly appreciate any help here.

I am building my first system and need help selecting a graphics card. I will be getting three new monitors, but I want them to operate separately (for now). Meaning I want to use one monitor for web browsing, one for email, and one for work (editing, multimedia, multiple Skype conferences, etc.). At some point I'll probably get into hard-core gaming.

Money not being an object, what is the BEST graphics card I can get for this setup? Better to have one graphics card or two? Which model? DVI, HDMI, etc., configuration?

Here are the specs of my build so far:
1. OS - Windows 7 64-bit Ultimate
2. Motherboard - Intel DX58SO2
3. CPU - Intel - i7
4. Case - Corsair 700D

Thank you very much any help and advice you can offer!

Jack
March 4, 2011 1:48:10 PM

If you are definitely interested in Eyefinity/ Surround gaming down the road, an SLI/ CF setup is definitely going to be the way to go. If the 3 monitors are going to be 1920x1080 or higher, you should consider going all out and getting either SLI GTX 580's or wait and get either CF HD 6990's or SLI GTX 590's. I'm not sure what outputs each is going to have, but you'll definitely have the graphics horsepower to drive that kind of display.

If you are looking to do it for less, you could always go with a single 6950/ 6970 now and get a second down the road once you decide you're ready to get into triple monitor gaming. The one advantage Eyefinity has is that you can do it with a single card if you have at least one DisplayPort monitor or an active DP to DVI adapter.

The GTX 580's are around $500 a pop, and the 6950 is currently around $270. I'm not sure of the exact prices on the new cards, but from what I've read the HD 6990 is going to be at least $600 and the GTX 590 is going to be even more.
Score