Does Nvidia gtx 500 series have OpenGL issues like the 400 series?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sigmar

Distinguished
Mar 4, 2011
Hello, this is my first time posting!

Okay let me set this up first. Im building my new computer, but Im stuck right now on video cards. I have decided that I will choose between an Nvidia Geforce gtx 560 (standard or Over-Clocked, not sure), and a HD Radeon 6950 2gb. Price wise they are pretty close (regular 560 is around $250, O.Cs are like $270, while the 6950 is around $300, but with the rebates its like $255-270). While Im a long time Nvidia user, I considering a Radeon partially due to the fact that my new computer will be AMD. The other reason is Nvidia related. The reason I never skipped over the gtx 400 series completely, was because I heard about them having major problems with OpenGL. This is what wikipedia says about this problem:

"It has been reported by users as well as developers [13] [14] [15] [16] [17] [18] [19] [20] that nVidia 400-series cards have severe performance problems with 3D content-creation applications such as Autodesk Maya and 3ds Max, Blender, Rhinoceros 3D—as well as some OpenGL games—to the extent that video cards two generations older routinely outperform 400-series in such applications and games. The problem, which affects any OpenGL application using textures, involves accessing framebuffer contents or storing data on the GPU. So far, one customer using an OpenGL based application got a response from nVidia support indicating that the behavior is expected in the GeForce 400 line of cards, and no software update will help improving the performance of the hardware.[21]. The problem can be worked around with a hack by using a CUDA memory copy to access the buffer object."

Now my question is this: Does the gtx 500 series suffer from this same problem too? Is it too early to tell yet? Or should the 500 series have no problems here (even though they share the same chip...I think)?