Energy consumption metering

kowalsky

Distinguished
Mar 27, 2009
hi all,
can anyone tell me if they ever came across a software that meters the energy consumed by a PC.
Basically I have two issues:
1. I googled until I lost my patience and the only sw I found were related to saving energy, but none of those had a measurement component; at this point that's my only interest: i want to know how many wats did i spent over how many hours ... i am not that good with google, nevertheless, i find it strange to be still empty handed after almost 2 hours of seach
2. I have to admit, maybe it is not that trivial to get this info from within the PC itself - I am interested in what the consumption is let's say in a cycle of 72 hours, and I am mostly interested in what the consumption is during the stand-by periods versus the active periods ... if I have a meter running it may be so that the PC does not get in stand by anymore ...

Anyway, if someone has any idea what I am looking for, please let me know,
thanks,
kowalsky

Solution
You cant do it via software, it has to be done via hardware. You can use something like a kill-a-watt or an equivalent that can output a timeline to another computer so that you can see its power consumption in stand by periods.

kowalsky

Distinguished
Mar 27, 2009
thanks hunter315,
i am not fully convinced but common sense tells me that running any metering sw will make you kiss the stand-by goodbye.

one more question: i just flashed the bios on an old old box - asus p2b-f: i jumped from rev1009.B to 1013.A just because the old bios did not understand the power savings functions in XP. I have my doubts even now because I can still hear stuff turning in the PC - is it the power supply fan that is making all that noise? That will probably run all the time ...

thanks again,
kowalsky

sub mesa

Distinguished