How to check and update bios on rampage iv extreme - x79 build

associated

Honorable
Apr 23, 2012
hey everyone!
first build so i am just looking for some advise to help clear any first timers fog ;)
ok so i have just recently installed a rampage iv extreme mobo with i7 3820 processor. i know that bios flashing may be needed depending on the current bios version of the mobo for it to support the i7 3820. ive checked the # and this particular board is on revision 1.02. what bios # is this? i know the current bios for this motherboard is #1305 (2012.04.18). however, i havnt been able to find a bios that represents 1002. i am still learning so i am eager to find out the correct bios for my board so i can update if necessary.

any extra suggestions are welcomed.

thanks for the tips! Very much appreciated!

Often there's a small sticky on the MOBO (backside) or the Box itself indicating the BIOS version. Most R4E in inventory are either BIOS 1005 or 1101 and most of the shipping i7-3820's require BIOS 1101 to post.

I'm not aware there was ever a BIOS (1002), but there was a version 1005.

If your PC can post into the BIOS then use ASUS EZ Flash 2, it's found under the 'Tools' menu. You'll need a FAT32 Flash Drive with no partitions, unzip the BIOS (.ROM) file and just in case rename = R4E.ROM then copy to the Flash Drive. Connect the Flash Drive to any of the BLACK USB 2.0 ports and boot into the BIOS pressing the Delete key, press F5 to Load Defaults and (click on the 'Shortcut' bottom left) then get to the Tools menu, click on the ASUS EZ Flash 2 Utility, click on the R4E.ROM and follow the prompts. Typically it take 1-2 minutes if that.

More info on ASUS EZ Flash 2 - http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/289507-30-what-flash

--