Input on building a server

p2ranger

Distinguished
Nov 1, 2009
I am wanting to build a little server for my home. It's main use will be a file and print server. I've decided to make this a little hobby type project. What I've come up with, I'm not sure will work and would like some input on. I want to use Ubuntu 9.10 server (Linux) as my OS. I want to use two drives inside in a RAID array to prevent data loss. I've read that Linux will handle raid as the system I'm looking at doesn't do hardware RAID

I found this little barebones system on Newegg:
Foxconn R10-S4
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16856119012

It comes with 1X 3.5 internal bay, 1X 3.5 external bay, 1X 5.25 external bay, 2x SATA connectors, 1X PCI slot, integrated sound, video, NIC. One reviewer spoke of the 3.5 external bay as "an undersized external 3.5" bay for installing a usb card reader". Not sure if this bay will accommodate other things or not.

I'm still new to Linux and am still trying to wrap my head around how the file system works (and have never attempted anything with RAID before). I was thinking about adding a third hard drive to use for booting and keeping the system on while keeping the two other drives for just keeping the data I want on the network. The idea being that if I need to move this data to another system, I hope that means that I could just pull these drives out and put them in something else.