Not open for further replies.

hyperreader

Distinguished
Aug 10, 2011
Hello,this is my first time posting here ;

CPU - E8400@3.00ghz
RAM - 2*2GB@800mhz
MOTHERBOARD - intel DG31PR.
graphic card - 9500 GT ( slightly overclocked.)
stock cooling.
PSU - 450 watts.

i was content with my PC until a few days ago , but since i am a gamer i gotta keep upgrading and i dont have a big budget for that , around $200 dollars every couple of years.

i could'nt make up my mind whether to upgrade my CPU to Q9500 or get a new motherboard which supports DDR3 ram , two PCI-E ports and OC my existing E8400 as i cannot in my current motherboard.i know i am getting a palit sonic platinum GTX 460.

i am leaning slightly toward getting a new motherboard as i can use my existing graphic card as a dedicated physx processor and i've heard ddr3 offers a significant performance boost.

could anybody offer any advice or opinions?

Solution
ATI has EyeFinity (if it is what I'm thinking of). 3D Vision and EyeFinity is simply too expensive to be justified though, so I'm not even interested in it.

With the 6870 you'll be able to play all games on the market with DX9 at 1680x900 or lower for about two years before you will need to look at it again. Then you may feel a CrossFire setup is cheaper and it will help again for a while. Overall though, it'll be your CPU that's the bottleneck in the system. Not really worth upgrading (LGA775 is dead), but good enough for you to remain using while you save up for a Bulldozer rig at the end of the year. Do some extra chores or stuff and you're going to love your new rig.

Toxxyc

Distinguished
Jan 6, 2011