Sign in with
Your question

Dual gtx 470 or single 6970? (first post)

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
March 7, 2011 9:06:08 AM

I'm thinking of upgrading my gpu.
I'm currently running a single gtx 470 (which is fine excpet I would like to play games like crysis at max settings with out the annoying occasional slow down) I was looking for some opinions of what to do in terms of cost effieciency mixed with gaming effiency. Either purchasing another gtx 470 (which should hopefully be fairly cheap now) or getting another more up to date single card.
Also my psu is only 700w. So I would probably need at least 900w to run sli? which would up the price of getting another gtx 470. Also would I need extra cooling running sli? my case is an Antec 900 with stock cooling.

(as you can probably tell I'm a complete noob, I've yet to even attempt to build my own machine)

-cheers

a c 130 U Graphics card
March 7, 2011 9:08:48 AM

What brand PSU is it? Odds are you will need an upgrade unless it's a good ol' Corsair. Also, what resolution do you run at?
m
l
March 7, 2011 9:58:44 AM

I run at 1824x1026. (that's the only resolution I can run in crysis where objects on the screen don't flicker, which is another matter entirely) the power supply ia a "Scythe 700W Stronger Modular PSU"
m
l
Related resources
March 7, 2011 10:43:49 AM

Why do things flicker? Adding another card when things are already flickering probably isn't the best idea unless you already have the reason narrowed down.
m
l
March 7, 2011 9:51:11 PM

mayankleoboy1.
I'm guessing the same brand of card isn't required?
I have a gigabyte card right now; will any two 470's do for an s.l.i connection?

jfby.
I'm not sure why they flicker; it's only Crysis that has that problem which is fixed when I'm not playing with a full screen. I've tried fiddling around with v-sync, resolution etc to no avail. It's sweet though because if I run it in window mode at 1824x1026 res I only loose a centimetre of the screen.

m
l